top of page

2019 experiment with “hard work”


Surviving the 20’s is an achievement, I tell you! It was for me. Born in Russia, raised in the orphanage, and adopted as a teen into an American family would make for a colorful character of me in my twenties, if we had a scrapbook full of photos. Ambitious yet helpless, you couldn’t tell me nothin. I wanted to be a heavy metal guitarist/singer in a band, Except I couldn’t sing. I practiced sometimes and carried a guitar in a soft case all over Seattle. ”im a musician” would be my usual reply, and only tone-deaf girls would be in my audience. Naw, it’s not that bad. Not thaaaat bad. I was fascinated with finding Seattle and all of its allure when I was 19, escaping the boredom of a suburban life out in the Issaquah horse fields somewhere. I could make it, I’m going to make in the great multicultural city was my silent mantra. and I think I did ok. But just barely ok. Like -shrugs- “ok”

Around 26 years of age, I got the itch to give college another try, after my couple quarters at Seattle Central ended a few years back due to my “dedication” to be a musician. I enrolled in Western Governors University, online, so that I can still be employable to survive with the help of my 4 roommates in Seward Park. Upon signing up for school, I started a car wash business. Strictly for the experience of running a business. I was majoring in accounting,after all. Car washing business started with absolutely 0 money. Just a kitchen towel, Dawn dish soap, and a bucket.

i Dabbled with business and part time jobbing til the end of 2018, when all of a sudden I decided to quit my favorite job as a technician apprentice/shop detailer at Seattle Collission Center. He told me that my smoke break was too long, and it was, and I told him I quit. This is turning into quite a story...

But this is also the best part, I decided to go all in with my dream of becoming a good technician because no shop was willing to take a chance on me yet. I took that chance and started a body shop, not having ever pulled a dent, or painted. I researched the crap out of any and all infoYouTubemation about repairing dents, painting techniques and tips and tricks. For the whole 2019, I accepted every and any kind of job for pennies on the dollar worth of time, and work 80 hours a week in my backyard learning auto body work. I was so cheap, that my landlord (even yelled at me about it) saw “15” half assembled cars on his rental property.

i worked hard. I listened to motivational podcasts, conversations about wealth and the habits of successful people, and I worked hard, because everyone said that it’s the way to the top. Hard. Fucking. Work. lost many friends, mainly all of them, because when you’re working your 80 hour weeks investing into your self, your dreams, your future, your reputation, your close ones, your wealth, knowledge, and experience, you tend to understand the value of your time.

I ain’t at the top yet, but as of 2020, I achieved my goal of becoming a professional painter. Through hard work only. Not talent, not gift, not favor, just plain old work.

i am making new goals, not New Years resolutions lol, of my next “aha” moments in life... I’m kinda excited. Luxmanov Garage coming soon!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Ford Truck Progress

The video summarizes the first year of progress on it. For the next 2, I beat it up for fun and work purposes and even though it mighta needed a new engine since the day I bought it. This 94 Ford F150

Atols Plastic Welder Tutorial and Review

This is a video review of a Tool I purchased from Amazon. If you don't have the patience to watch the video the summary of it is: the Atols Plastic Welder is great for the job in repairing cracks and

bottom of page